Edge shares your information, after enabling Sync by default

Alexandru Poloboc
by Alexandru Poloboc
News Editor
With an overpowering desire to always get to the bottom of things and uncover the truth, Alex spent most of his time working as a news reporter, anchor, as well as TV and radio... Read more
Affiliate Disclosure
  • Some users are not happy at all with certain choices Microsoft is making for them.
  • A message informed them Sync was enabled and data was being sent to the cloud.
  • Microsoft is actually enabling syncing without any prior warning or user consent.
  • Of course, you can turn to sync off, but it’s too already too late by the time you do it.
edge sync

When launching Edge this morning, many users were surprised to see a message informing them that Sync was now enabled and data was being uploaded to the cloud, to be shared with other PCs where they were also logged in.

Many don’t use synchronization services between browsers because they don’t want to share this information with Google, Firefox, Microsoft, or any other company.

Google also tries to push end-users to activate synchronization services when they first sign into the browser, but if you turn the feature off it stays.

Microsoft, however, has taken a different approach to this situation, one that some don’t agree with.

Microsoft still hasn’t done anything about this situation

This serious problem has been recently flagged by security researcher Bruce Schneier. According to him, He received emails from two people who told me that Microsoft Edge enabled synching without warning or consent.

What this means is that Microsoft sucked up all of their bookmarks and, of course, they can turn to sync off, but it’s too already too late.

This kind of user-unfriendly behavior is par for the course at Microsoft these days, as the company recently admitted that its decision to prevent end-users from changing their browsers in Windows 11 via EdgeDetector is a deliberate crackdown on the choice that the company does not intend to roll back.

Windows openly enables applications and services on its platform, including various web browsers. At the same time, Windows also offers certain end-to-end customer experiences in both Windows 10 and Windows 11, the search experience from the taskbar is one such example of an end-to-end experience that is not designed to be redirected. When we become aware of improper redirection, we issue a fix.

This is what Redmond officials had to say when asked about the decision to prevent end-users from changing Edge as a default browser for certain activities in Windows 11.

But there’s nothing improper about the redirection as contemplated in the example above, and it’s interesting that Microsoft feels it has the right to say otherwise.

Last year, the tech giant took heat for the way Edge silently imported data from other browsers at startup. These incidents show the company learned nothing from the user outcry.

It’s still pushing applications like PC Health Check to end users whether they want it or not, so at this point, it seems foolish to expect anything different.

Microsoft obviously believes it has the right to compel its end users to use Edge and to share sensitive browsing data with itself by default, whether end-users opt-in or not.

The Redmond-based tech company used to seem like a company that treated end-user data with more respect than Google or Amazon, but the company’s behavior in the six years since the Get Windows 10 campaign has dented that reputation.

What’s your take on the situation? Be sure to share your opinion with us in the comments section below.

This article covers:Topics: