Windows 10 has a new file deletion warning for the Downloads folder

2 minute read
error 0x80070780 Windows 10

Home » News » Windows 10 has a new file deletion warning for the Downloads folder

The Windows 10 October 2018 Update made some subtle alterations to the Disk Cleanup utility. Since that update, Disk Cleanup has included a Downloads check box users can select to erase files in that folder. Microsoft has now also added a description to the Disk Cleanup window that reminds users that the utility erases files in Downloads with that check box selected.

Microsoft has just rolled out Windows Insider Preview Build 18305 for the Windows 10 19H1 Update that includes a slightly modified Disk Cleanup utility. Now the Disk Cleanup utility includes a new warning description for the Downloads folder that states: “These are files in your personal Downloads folder. Select this if you’d like to delete everything.

That new description for the Downloads folder makes it a little clearer that Disk Cleanup erases files in Downloads with that check box selected. Thus, Microsoft probably added it to ensure against accidental data loss. Without a warning description, some users might blindly select all the Disk Cleanup check boxes without realizing that one erases files in the Downloads folder.

However, is the description warning enough? Without a popup window, Disk Cleanup’s new description warning for Downloads might still escape the attention of some users.

Aside from Disk Cleanup’s new description warning, Windows Insider Preview Build 18305 also includes a simplified Start menu layout, Windows Sandbox, new look Clipboard history, and recommended troubleshooting.

Windows Sandbox is perhaps the most notable new feature in build 18305. That is a new isolated desktop mode that enables users to launch untrusted programs within Windows Sandbox.

Microsoft will release the Windows 10 19H1 Update during spring 2019. The extra Disk Cleanup description for the Downloads folder it includes might make it a little harder for users to accidentally erase files in that folder. Just make sure that you double-check exactly what folders’ files you’ve selected for Disk Cleanup to delete!

RELATED STORIES TO CHECK OUT:

Discussions

Next up

Install this new Chrome extension to flag dodgy websites

Rabia Noureen avatar. By: Rabia Noureen
2 minute read

Google launched a brand new Chrome extension that helps users to report malicious sites. Google named this extension as the Suspicious Site Reporter. After you […]

Continue Reading

You can now download Windows Terminal on your Windows 10 PC

Rabia Noureen avatar. By: Rabia Noureen
2 minute read

Microsoft announced Windows Terminal at Build 2019 and promised to release a preview version in mid-June. Starting this week, the preview version of the new […]

Continue Reading

Prevent Steam client going offline after starting a game with these steps

Mihai Duna avatar. By: Mihai Duna
2 minute read

Some users reported experiencing an issue regarding the connectivity to the Steam servers. When attempting to play games online, they get disconnected after a few […]

Continue Reading