LinkendIn’s auto-fill plugin reportedly leaked user data

2 minute read
linkedin security issues

Home » News » LinkendIn’s auto-fill plugin reportedly leaked user data

Microsoft purchased LinkedIn back in 2016 and until now there haven’t been any problems with the service. You might have found the LinkedIn AutoFill plugin useful, but it seems that there’s more to it than meets the eye. The plugin is vulnerable to leaking member data such as name, email address, location, phone number and users’ workplaces if the sire that is using this feature is susceptible to cross-site scripting exploits.

LinkedIn limits this feature to some websites

The feature is only limited to a small number of approved websites. ZDNet reported that at least one of these websites was found vulnerable to the exploit and it allows security research Jack Cable to exfiltrate LinkedIn user profile data just when a user clicked on the webpage of the site.

Cable stated that user data could be exposed to any website just if you click somewhere on that page and this is triggered by the fact that the AutoFill button can be invisible, spanning the whole page.

User data can be exposed regardless of privacy settings

Unfortunately, it doesn’t even matter how your privacy settings are configured because your information could still be exposed.

For instance, if I set my privacy settings to not display my last name or email address and display a general location, this still returns my full name, email address, and zip code.

Cable revealed the sad news of the exploit’s existence after LinkedIn failed to fix the flaw and shut down communication with Cable.


In case you want to be secure while surfing the internet, you will need to get a full-dedicated tool to secure your network.  Install now Cyberghost VPN and secure yourself. It protects your PC from attacks while browsing, masks your IP address and blocks all unwanted access.


Eventually, LinkedIn managed to fix the exploit

LinkedIn found and fixed the problem and also addressed it. Here’s what they said:

We immediately prevented unauthorized use of this feature, once we were made aware of the issue. While we’ve seen no signs of abuse, we’re constantly working to ensure our members’ data stays protected. We appreciate the researcher responsibly reporting this, and our security team will continue to stay in touch with them.

For more information on how to keep your personal data private while online, check out the guides listed below:

Discussions

Next up

FIX: Mixer not saving streams

Vladimir Popescu avatar. By: Vladimir Popescu
2 minute read

If you see that Mixer is not saving your past streams, aka VoDs (Video on Demand), you should know that you’re not the only one. […]

Continue Reading

FIX: SSD won’t wake from sleep

Vladimir Popescu avatar. By: Vladimir Popescu
3 minute read

A great number of users have stormed the different online forums complaining about the fact that their SSD won’t wake up from sleep. Here is […]

Continue Reading

How to create tab groups in Chrome browser

Rabia Noureen avatar. By: Rabia Noureen
2 minute read

Google is currently testing the tab grouping feature in Google Chrome. This feature is meant to offer a seamless experience while you are handling multiple […]

Continue Reading