The Video Editor in the Windows Photos app allows you to create videos and sync them to OneDrive. As of today, Microsoft announced that sync in-progress video projects to OneDrive will no longer be available.
The retirement of OneDrive video sync feature was silently announced
The feature will be removed on January 10, 2020, and all the metadata from on-going projects will be deleted. This includes the photo and video clip order, music timing, and text for the title cards for a certain video project.
Any personal photos, videos, or any other files saved on OneDrive won’t be affected.
If you’re syncing video projects to OneDrive from a single device, the change won’t affect you in any way.
But if you use multiple devices, you’ll see the message “Syncing video projects to OneDrive is going away as of January 10th, 2020. We recommend turning off sync now to make sure you have the latest version on this PC.”
If you want to save all of your latest projects, you’ll have to click Turn off sync for all projects in the main Video Editor page.
After doing this, the latest versions of your video projects will be saved locally.
The new way to save video projects to OneDrive
Also, there’s a new way to save project backups to OneDrive. After you turn off Sync to OneDrive as highlighted above, open a video project and select See more > Back up project.
You will now have a .vpb file that can be opened on other devices by selecting See more > Import backup on the Video Projects page next to the New video project button.
So, remember to save your projects locally before January 10, 2020, because after this date, all the metadata files for your projects will be deleted and there will be no way for Microsoft to recover them.
How is this change affecting you? Leave your answer in the comments section below.