European people to consent to data sharing on Windows 11

Consent to data will be available in the European Economic Area.

Reading time icon 3 min. read

Readers help support Windows Report. We may get a commission if you buy through our links. Tooltip Icon

Read our disclosure page to find out how can you help Windows Report sustain the editorial team Read more

Key notes

  • All the EU and some non-EU European countries will get this feature.
  • You'll be asked to consent to data sharing when using Windows 11.
  • However, some functionalities might be disrupted by it.
consent to data sharing

Microsoft released Build 23521 to the Dev Channel in the Windows Insider Program this week and the Redmond-based tech giant brought important features to Windows 11 once again. For example, you’ll be able to experience for yourself the new Windows 356 Cloud PC.

In case you don’t know, the feature takes Windows 11 into the cloud, and you can now participate in the public preview of Windows 365 Switch if you’re on the Dev or Beta Channels.

This build also comes with the new and improved Task Manager dialog menus, which were discovered last week. Plus, you’ll be given the option to disable Windows Spotlight.

And speaking of options, Microsoft is making it possible to consent to data sharing on Windows 11, and when using Windows 11 tools. It appears as a feature in this Build, and if everything goes accordingly, the option should be made available on live Windows servers soon.

However, there is a catch: only European Windows users are able to give their consent to data sharing for now.

Consent to data sharing on Windows 11 in the European Space

According to Microsoft, Windows will now require consent to share data, when you’re using Windows 11 tools, such as Microsoft Store, or other signed-in Microsoft services. However, this is only required in the European Space, in the European Economic Area.consent to data sharing

In the European Economic Area (EEA), Windows will now require consent to share data between Windows and other signed-in Microsoft services. You will see some Windows features start to check for consent now, with more being added in future builds. Without consent to share data between Windows and other signed-in Microsoft services, some functionality in Windows features may be unavailable, for example certain types of file recommendations under “Recommended” on the Start menu.

The Europan Economic Area includes the EU countries, which are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Non-EU countries such as Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein are also part of it.

Consent to data will be available in all these countries, as soon as this feature will be up on live Windows 11 servers. However, as Microsoft mentioned in their blog post, some functionalities will be affected.

We’ll update this article as soon as the update goes live on Windows 11.

But what do you think about this feature? Should it be expanded to more regions? Let us know in the comments section below.

More about the topics: Windows 11, Windows Update