How to Delete or Close Your Outlook.com Account

by Claudiu Andone
Claudiu Andone
Claudiu Andone
Windows & Software Expert
Oldtimer in the tech and science press, Claudiu is focused on whatever comes new from Microsoft. His abrupt interest in computers started when he saw the first Home... read more
Affiliate Disclosure
  • When you delete an account from Outlook, you can no longer send or receive email from that account.
  • Perhaps it's been swamped with spam, has an unprofessional username, or you've simply decided to switch to a new email provider.
  • Keep in mind that removing an email account from Outlook does not deactivate the email account; however, we will assist you with the necessary steps to delete it.

Tired of email issues? Get this email client and get rid of them!Your email client/account give you headaches? We offer you the perfect email client that will centralize all your email accounts and will let you access your important data without any errors. You can do now:

  • Manage ALL your emails in a single inbox
  • Easy to integrate popular apps (Facebook, Todoist, LinkedIn, Dropbox, etc.)
  • Access all your contact from a single environment
  • Get rid of errors and lost email data

Email made easy & beautiful

Not everyone has an Outlook email address. When you have a more professional email solution, you may feel compelled to delete your Outlook.com account.

Whatever the reason, you should understand how to close your Outlook.com email ID. We are dealing with the same subject in this article to delete an Outlook.com account.

For a long time, Microsoft’s official email platform was Hotmail. However, a few years ago, they merged all of the services and made Outlook.com the email solution, demoting Hotmail to oblivion.

The steps to delete an Outlook account are outlined below. Microsoft does not delete the account immediately but keeps it available in case you believe the deletion was a mistake. After 60 days, the account will be completely removed from their database.

How do I delete or close my Outlook.com account?

So, are you certain you want to close or delete your Outlook.com account? The steps you should take are as follows.

  1. To begin, go to the Outlook website and sign in with your credentials. If you believe you have forgotten your password, you should use any recovery method to reset it.

    *Microsoft has implemented a centralized account system. You don’t have to do it separately for Microsoft because you’re already logged into your Outlook account.

  2. Our next step will be to go to account.microsoft.com. As you can see, it will not prompt you to enter your credentials again because you already did so in the first step.
  3. On the Microsoft account Settings page, you will see a variety of options. Simply select Security from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click on the more security options link at the bottom.
  5. Now, scroll down to the bottom to find the Close my account link. You’ve made your decision, haven’t you? Don’t be afraid to click on it.
  6. When you click the link to close your account, Microsoft will advise you on what you should do before proceeding. If you have unfinished business, deleting your account on any platform is a big deal.
  7. If you believe you are aware of the consequences or have completed all of the steps outlined there, you can proceed to the next stage. Microsoft will ask you to enter your password to verify your identity.
  8. Click on Mark account for closure when you’re ready to complete the process.

They will temporarily close the account if you do this. If you change your mind, you can return and reactivate your account within two months. After a few months, your account is permanently deleted and unrecoverable.

A few things to remember or do before you delete your Outlook account

  • Obviously, you will no longer receive emails once you confirm the deletion. If you have any Skype credits, you should use them all. You will never be able to recover your deleted account.
  • Is there any money in your Microsoft or Xbox account? To check your balance, click on this link. I recommend that you delete the credit cards that you linked to the account.
  • Even if you do not delete your account but leave it inactive for a full year, it will be deactivated and made available for registration to new users.
  • Before you can delete the account, you must first contact the Microsoft billing service. You may be unable to close the Outlook ID due to a single pending subscription.
  • The account stays inactive (but ready to get reactivated again) for 60 days. If you think you want it back, you can have it in this period.

Some people have complained that even after following all of the steps outlined above, their account was not completely erased.

If you encounter a similar problem, you can visit Microsoft’s hidden deletion page. Before completing the procedure, they will request the password, so make sure you have it.

We hope you now understand how to close your Outlook.com account. Obviously, the account is never deleted immediately. Instead, it is deactivated for two months, and the deletion occurs only after that time period has passed.

We’ve already written about removing a Microsoft account from your computer. If you want to do the same, you can refer to it.

Do you have any reservations? Don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments section below.

idee restoro Still having issues? Fix them with this tool:
  1. Download this PC Repair Tool rated Great on TrustPilot.com (download starts on this page).
  2. Click Start Scan to find Windows issues that could be causing PC problems.
  3. Click Repair All to fix issues with Patented Technologies (Exclusive Discount for our readers).

Restoro has been downloaded by 0 readers this month.

This article covers:Topics: