Satya Nadella reelected as Chairman of Microsoft’s Board of Directors

Reading time icon 2 min. read

Readers help support Windows Report. We may get a commission if you buy through our links. Tooltip Icon

Read our disclosure page to find out how can you help Windows Report sustain the editorial team Read more

After a round of voting, Microsoft’s Board reelects CEO Satya Nadella as Chairman, fills the Lead Independent Director Chair left open by John W. Thompson, as well as announcing new quarterly dividends for shareholders.

Yesterday, Microsoft announced that its Independent Directors had reelected company CEO Satya Nadella as Board Chairman, as well as filling former Chair of the Governance and Nominating Committee John Thompson’s position with Operating Partner at Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, Sandra E. (Sandi) Peterson.

John Thompson, while stepping down, will remain a member of the Governance and Nominating Committee.

Microsoft also announced the appointment of Carlos A. Rodriguez to the Compensation Committee, where he will serve as chair of the committee.

A full breakdown of Microsoft Board is as follows:

The Microsoft Board consists of 12 members: Sandra E. Peterson, Lead Independent Director, Microsoft Corporation; Reid G. Hoffman, General Partner, Greylock Partners; Hugh F. Johnston, Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer, PepsiCo, Inc.; Teri L. List, former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Gap, Inc.; Satya Nadella, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Microsoft Corporation; Penny S. Pritzker, Founder and Chairman, PSP Partners; Carlos A. Rodriguez, Executive Chair, ADP, Inc.; Charles W. Scharf, Chief Executive Officer and President, Wells Fargo & Company; John W. Stanton, Chairman, Trilogy Partnerships; John W. Thompson, Partner, Lightspeed Venture Partners; Emma N. Walmsley, Chief Executive Officer, GSK; and Padmasree Warrior, Founder, President & CEO, Fable Group Inc.

The last bit of news coming out of the election process includes an announcement from the company that starting June 8, 2023, quarterly dividends of $0.68 a share will be payable to shareholders, and shareholders of record could receive the advance as soon as May 18, 2023.