- Twitter makes tweets unavailable to unauthorized users. It's usually not a fault of your account.
- You won't see tweets from users you blocked, an account that blocked you, and private accounts that you do not follow.
- Don't hesitate to explore our Troubleshooting Hub for more useful guides.
- For even more software guides, tips, and tricks, visit our Software area.
Reading tweets on your timeline, you must have come across tweets that are unavailable.
Unlike the Twitter internal server error, the tweet is unavailable placeholder message is mostly not an issue with your account or the tweet.
In most cases, the message is Twitter protecting your privacy or that of the Twitter user who sent the tweet.
What does this message mean and how do you make tweets available? Read this article to the end to find out.
Why does the tweet is unavailable error appear?
You are trying to view a deleted tweet
The most common instance when you see this tweet is unavailable placeholder message is when the tweet has already been deleted.
Twitter doesn’t just delete the tweet; users will know that something was tweeted but won’t know what it was.
The poster of the tweet blocked you
Another instance when Twitter hides a tweet from you is when you’re blocked by the Twitter account from which the tweet was sent.
When the Twitter user blocks you, the placeholder message says This account owner limits who can view their Tweets.
Unlike in the case of Facebook blocks, you can find their profile, but that’s as far as you can go.
You blocked the poster of the tweet
Blocking a Twitter user means that you no longer want to see their content. Hence, Twitter restricts both users from viewing each other’s content.
The tweet is from a private profile
The microblogging platform, Twitter, has around 321 million active users so, it sometimes gets too noisy.
Thankfully, you can set your account as private.
When you operate a private account, your content is only shown to users that follow you.
A blocked user is tagged in the tweet
Hiding the content of blocked users isn’t enough to keep them from showing up on your timeline.
If someone you blocked is tagged on a tweet, the tweet will be unavailable to you.
This is Twitter‘s way of protecting your privacy from users you blocked.
How can I remove the tweet is unavailable message?
1. Ask the poster of the tweet to unblock you
If the tweet is unavailable meaning that the Twitter user blocked you, you can reach out to them to ask them to unblock you.
When they do unblock you, their content will become available to you.
Since you can send them a direct message or post on their timeline, you can go through a mutual friend or follower.
2. Unblock the Twitter user who posted the tweet
If you realize that the reason why the tweet is unavailable to you is that you blocked the Twitter user, you have to unblock them to see the content.
Not only will this tweet be available to you; you can see all their content if they’re not blocked.
When you block a Twitter user, the follow button says Blocked. Simply tap or click on this button to unblock the account.
3. Send the Twitter user a follow request
This solution will make the tweet available if the user protects their tweets. To follow a public profile, hit the Follow button.
But when it comes to private profiles, after clicking Follow, you have to wait until they approve your request.
When you finally follow them, you will no longer see unavailable tweets from the Twitter user.
4. Contact Twitter support
Finally, if none of these work, it could mean that your account is being penalized by Twitter. The platform limits your account especially when tweets from several users all show as unavailable.
You can either visit help.twitter.com, call 415-222-9670 (toll-free), or tweet @TwitterSupport, stating your case.
If a resolution is possible, then it’s only a matter of time before tweets become available to you.
This unavailable tweet placeholder only applies to tweets that have no interactions (retweets, likes, or replies).
An example is when a user quotes a tweet, which got deleted after the quoting. Twitter tells you that this quoted tweet is unavailable if you want to view the original tweet.
The same applies to replies and retweets.