- Facebook's block feature allows you to cut a user off of your Facebook account. They can't see your posts, but they can see posts from your mutual friends.
- Blocked users cannot see you via mutual friends. It doesn't matter whether you tag your mutual friends or they tag you.
- Don't hesitate to browse through our Troubleshooting section to find more interesting reads.
- You can visit our How To section and search for guides and tips on using your devices and apps.
Blocking on Facebook is way more intense than merely unfriending a person. The latter only removes the person’s posts from your timeline and limits you from their content.
Blocking someone on Facebook hides your entire profile from them and not that of your mutual friends. However, when you factor in mutual friends, blocking gets tricky.
In this guide we will explore the answer to your question. Read on to find out more details.
What happens when I block someone on Facebook?
If I block someone on Facebook can they see my comments on mutual friends?
When you block someone on Facebook, you are essentially locking them out of your Facebook universe. This means that to the blocked user, your account no longer exists on Facebook.
The same goes for your comments on the posts of mutual friends.
People you block on Facebook cannot see anything you publish on the platform – your comments, posts, and shares, etc. They won’t see your content, even if it involves a mutual friend.
If someone blocks me on Facebook will they see my friend request?
No – If someone blocks you on Facebook, you won’t be able to send them a friend request in the first place. The moment the person blocked you, you lost all access to his or her Facebook profile or page.
When you search for their name, Facebook hides the person’s profile from the search result page.
The person that blocked you can see your Facebook profile. If they search for your name, they can find you and enter your profile. However, Facebook reminds them that they’re viewing the profile or page of a user they blocked.
The person can unblock you from your Facebook profile or page.
If I block someone on Facebook can they see a post with a mutual friend tagged?
Neither you nor the person you blocked can tag each other to posts. Also, the blocked user will NOT see posts you published with a mutual friend tagged.
If a mutual friend posts on your wall, the person you blocked will know that the mutual friend posted something. However, they won’t see the content on the post or know that it was posted on your wall.
All you will see is that the content isn’t available right now. Going back to tags, it can even get more interesting.
On the one hand, if you post and tag a mutual friend, they won’t see the post because the blocked users cannot see anything you post, no matter who you tag.
On the other hand, if a mutual friend tags you to a post, the person you blocked will be able to see the post, but they won’t see the tag.
Facebook‘s block feature does a good job of protecting your privacy. When you block someone, it doesn’t affect the content of your mutual friends. You’ll see their content but not the tags.
The only time the posts of your mutual friends are hidden from you is when they post on the wall of the user that blocked you.
We hope that this guide has managed to answer your questions regarding what happens when you block somebody on Facebook.
Don’t hesitate to share your opinion with us by using the comment section below.