Are you sure you want to delete message not showing [SOLVED]

Tashreef Shareef
by Tashreef Shareef
Windows & Software Expert
Tashreef Shareef is a software developer turned tech writer. He discovered his interest in technology after reading a tech magazine accidentally. Now he writes about everything tech from Windows to iOS and streaming services... Read more
Affiliate Disclosure
two way to enable are you sure you want to delete confirmation dialog
To fix various PC problems, we recommend DriverFix:
This software will keep your drivers up and running, thus keeping you safe from common computer errors and hardware failure. Check all your drivers now in 3 easy steps:

  1. Download DriverFix (verified download file).
  2. Click Start Scan to find all problematic drivers.
  3. Click Update Drivers to get new versions and avoid system malfunctionings.
  • DriverFix has been downloaded by 0 readers this month.

To avoid any file from being deleted accidentally, Windows OS prompts the user with a confirmation message whenever the user uses the delete options. However, some users have reported that the Are you sure you want to delete? message is not showing while deleting any file.

You can easily enable Are you sure you want to delete this file confirmation box in Windows 10 by following these steps.

How to enable the Delete confirmation dialog box?

1. Enable From Local Settings

  1. From the Desktop, right-click on Recycle Bin and select Properties.
  2. In the Recycle Bin Properties window, check “Display delete confirmation dialog” option.
    unable are you sure want to delete message box
  3. Click on Apply and then on OK to save the changes.

Now try to delete any file and check if you get the “are you sure you want to delete this file” message.


If you deleted something important from your PC and want it back, check these tools.


2. Enable by using Group Policy Editor

  1. Press Windows Key + R to open the run dialog box.
  2. Type gpedit.msc and press OK to open the Group Policy Editor.
  3. In the Group Policy Editor, navigate to the following location.
    Local Computer Policy > User Configuration > Administrative Templates > All Settings
  4. Now you need to locate “Display confirmation dialog when deleting files” policy and double-click on it open the properties window.
    Enable delete Confirmation Message
  5. Now, set the policy to “Enabled”.
    enable Delete confirmation message GP Editor
  6. Click Apply and OK to save the changes.
  7. Close the Group Policy Editor.
  8. Reboot the system (optional).

Conclusion

Although some people prefer not getting the confirmation dialog box while removing a file as they can always restore the deleted file from the recycle bin, some would like to avoid the situation at all by having the Windows OS show the confirmation dialog box.

We have listed two options to enable Are you sure you want to delete this file confirmation dialog box. Do let us know which method worked for you in the comments below.

RELATED STORIES YOU MAY LIKE:

This article covers:Topics: