OpenAI Doubles ChatGPT Pro Usage Limits After Subscriber Backlash


openai usage limit
Image credit: OpenAI

OpenAI has doubled usage limits for ChatGPT Pro $100, $200, and $500 plans, along with Business Premium, effective immediately. The company has also reversed its decision to reduce usage allowances for existing Pro 200 subscribers after October 29, 2026.

The changes primarily affect ChatGPT Work and Codex, giving subscribers more capacity without increasing subscription prices.

OpenAI reverses planned ChatGPT Pro 200 usage cuts

OpenAI previously planned to reduce usage allowances for existing Pro 200 subscribers while keeping the monthly subscription price at $200.

However, following customer feedback, the company has decided to maintain existing Work and Codex allowances instead of proceeding with the cuts.

According to OpenAI’s announcement on X, the company has also doubled usage limits for ChatGPT Pro 100 ($100 per month), Pro 200 ($200 per month), Pro 500 ($500 per month), and Business Premium.

The increased limits apply immediately. However, OpenAI has not disclosed the exact numerical allowances for each subscription tier.

OpenAI Dots will retain separate usage limits

OpenAI also confirmed that Dots, its always-on AI assistants, will continue to receive extended usage limits.

Unlike ChatGPT Work and Codex, which share subscription allowances, Dots will maintain separate usage limits.

The company said these extended allowances will remain available for now but did not specify how long they will last.

OpenAI recently introduced another improvement to the service, allowing users to communicate with their ChatGPT Dots through text messages.

What changes for ChatGPT Pro subscribers?

The changes mean eligible subscribers can perform more tasks through ChatGPT Work and Codex without upgrading to a more expensive subscription.

Existing Pro 200 customers will also avoid the previously planned reduction in included usage.

OpenAI has not announced any subscription price increases alongside the new limits.

In other news, OpenAI reportedly plans to purchase Google’s AI chips, potentially challenging Nvidia’s dominance in AI hardware.

Meanwhile, OpenAI’s GPT-6.1 Terra reportedly took 11 times more unauthorized actions in safety tests. The company may also introduce shared usage limits for ChatGPT and Codex starting in December.

Via BleepingComputer

More about the topics: AI, ChatGPT, OpenAI

Readers help support Windows Report. We may get a commission if you buy through our links. Tooltip Icon

Read our disclosure page to find out how can you help Windows Report sustain the editorial team. Read more

User forum

0 messages