Browsing History Does Not Delete

Browsers are widely used to access information available on the World Wide Web. Besides that, browsers are stores of information; they remember everything you do on the internet. Users, therefore, sometimes need to erase the history of what they have searched so far. However, they fail in this attempt and complain that browsing history does not delete or browsing history will not clear.

This problem is usually created by a bug, which prevents the history, cookies, cache or other data in the browser from deletion. Consequently, your browsing history does not delete. Follow the methods below to tackle this problem

How can I delete website data that won’t delete?

1. Try a different browser

UR browser Browsing history does not delete

If you can’t delete website data on your browser, perhaps switching to a different browser might be the best solution.

UR Browser is privacy-oriented browser that comes with 3 different privacy modes that you can use. In addition, the browser will block tracking cookies in order to protect your history.

There’s also has a phishing protection and a malware scanner for downloaded files. If you’re looking for extra protection, there’s a built-in VPN available as well.


How about a privacy-oriented browser that has no issues with history deletion? Try UR Browser and see for yourself.


2. Clear cache in Google Chrome

  1. Open Google Chrome from its icon.
  2. Click on the three vertical dots in the top right corner of your browser – just below the close button.
  3. Select History > History.
  4.  In the top left corner, click on the option Clear browsing data.
  5. Set the Time range to All time.
  6. Mark all three options including Browsing history, Cookies, and other site data, and Cached images and files.
    Browsing History Will Not Clear clear data google chrome
  7. Click on Clear data
  8. If the problem persists, go to the following paths:
  • C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\DEFAULT\Cache
  • C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\PROFILENAME\Cache
  1. Delete the files therein.
  2. Relaunch Google Chrome.

2. Updating Google Chrome

update chrome Browsing History Does Not Delete

Usually, Chrome updates in the background when you close and reopen your browser. To update chrome manually follow these steps:

  1. Start Google Chrome.
  2. In the top right, click Customize or menu button.
  3. There will be an option Update Google Chrome. If you don’t see any update button it means you’re on the latest version.

Looking for a browser with a built-in VPN for extra protection? Here are few applications that you need to check out!


3. Delete The Browsing History On Internet Explorer

  1. Launch Internet Explorer.
  2. Press Ctrl + Shift + Del keys simultaneously.
  3. Press Ctrl + H at the same time to view your history.
  4. Click the Settings button in the top right corner of the browser.
  5. Scroll down to Internet Options and click it.
  6. In the Internet Options, click the Setting button just beside the Delete button.
    browsing history internet options Browsing History Does Not Delete
  7. Follow Settings > History.
  8. Type 0 in the box Days to keep pages in history.
    days to keep pages in history Browsing History Does Not Delete
  9. Click OK.
  10. Go back to Internet Options and press Delete button
  11. Go to Content tab > AutoComplete Settings > Delete AutoComplete History > Delete > OK

autocomplete settings Browsing History Does Not Delete


4. How to Delete Browsing History On Mozilla Firefox 

You can delete your history from Mozilla Firefox without encountering any problem. Follow the steps below

  1. Launch Mozilla Firefox.
  2. Click the Menu button with three horizontal lines icon.
  3. Choose options> Privacy & Security > Scroll down to History, cookies and site data.
  4. Click Clear History to clear to Everything.
    firefox clear recent history Browsing History Will Not Clear
  5. Select time range to clear history.
  6. In the Details list, check all the boxes if you want complete wipeout.
  7. Click the Clear now.

RELATED STORIES YOU SHOULD CHECK OUT: