How to disable Windows 10 Creators Update upgrade notifications

Radu Tyrsina
by Radu Tyrsina
CEO & Founder
Radu Tyrsina has been a Windows fan ever since he got his first PC, a Pentium III (a monster at that time). For most of the kids of his age, the Internet was an... Read more
Affiliate Disclosure
To fix various PC problems, we recommend DriverFix:
This software will keep your drivers up and running, thus keeping you safe from common computer errors and hardware failure. Check all your drivers now in 3 easy steps:

  1. Download DriverFix (verified download file).
  2. Click Start Scan to find all problematic drivers.
  3. Click Update Drivers to get new versions and avoid system malfunctionings.
  • DriverFix has been downloaded by 0 readers this month.

With the coming arrival of the Creators Update, Microsoft has begun setting the stage for it a few days in advance with the help of an in-OS notice reminding users and asking them if they’d like to download once it’s available.

While this notification is meant to help people prepare for the Creators Update and more easily install it, it might not be what everybody wants. Companies or enterprises, for instance, might want to disable this notification because they want complete control over when and how their employees update to the new update.

Luckily, Microsoft acknowledges this possibility and mentions that users who don’t want to see the notification will be able to disable it through the operating system’s registry.

How to turn off the Creators Update upgrade notice

In order to do this, users need to access Windows’ Registry Editor. This is done by running the regedit command. Next, they need to use the address bar to enter a specific line:

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsUpdate\UX\Settings

Completing the final steps

Users must navigate to the right panel and use the New>DWORD (32 bit) option from the right click menu. It has to have the name HideMCTLink. Next up, HideMCTLink needs to be double clicked and the value 1 needs to be attributed to it.

After that, users should be all set. The only thing remaining now is to restart the system. Upon re-boot, the OS will not longer present the notification which might have annoyed a lot of people. On a brighter note, it’s great that after months of testing on the Insiders platform, the Creators Update is finally ready to roll to the public.

RELATED STORIES TO CHECK OUT:

This article covers:Topics: