FIX: Filename contains a virus and was deleted

Milan Stanojevic
by Milan Stanojevic
Deputy Editor
0 Comments
Download PDF
Affiliate Disclosure

  • The Filename contains a virus and was deleted message appears when you download an email attachment or other file.
  • The problem is likely caused by an antivirus that was improperly uninstalled.
  • If you're looking for any information about the most popular OS, visit our Windows 10 section.
  • Our Troubleshooting Hub is the home of any possible solution to your PC problems.

How to fix filename contains a virus and was deleted

When you’re trying to download an email attachment or other file online and you get a message saying the filename contains a virus and was deleted, the issue may be on your computer’s performance after using antivirus.

The error filename contains a virus and was deleted indicates that you had an antivirus that you tried to uninstall, but it wasn’t executed properly, and this is why you’re facing the problem.

It is important also to note the antivirus software you tried to uninstall and uninstall it properly by downloading the appropriate removal tool and removing it completely.

However, you need not worry about this issue as we have some quick fixes you can try to resolve it.

What can I do if the filename contains a virus and was deleted?

  1. Disable your antivirus program
  2. Boot in Safe Mode with Networking
  3. Perform a Clean Boot
  4. Run the Microsoft Safety Scanner
  5. Check for the issue in another User account or create a new one

1. Disable your antivirus program

Firewalls and your antivirus program software may prevent some functions on your computer and cause the filename contains a virus and was deleted error.

It isn’t recommended to permanently turn the security software off, but you will still be protected by Windows Defender.

If the issue persists, you may need to uninstall your antivirus completely and check if you still get the same error.

If the problem disappeared it means you need another antivirus and we recommend VIPRE Antivirus Plus for that job.

It’s faster than most other solutions, it offers unsurpassed protection, and, more important, it doesn’t interfere with your system or files.

VIPRE Antivirus Plus comes with Virus, Malware, and Spyware protection by using modern machine learning technologies that can identify and block even Zero-day threats before they reach your system.

VIPRE Antivirus Plus

VIPRE Antivirus Plus

VIPRE offers great security protection but it doesn't mess with your regular files and apps.
Free trial Visit website

2. Boot in Safe Mode with Networking

  1. Restart your computer
  2. When the sign-in screen is displayed, hold down SHIFT key while you select Power then Restart
  3. After the computer restarts to Choose an option screen, select Troubleshoot
  4. Click Advanced options
  5. Click Startup Settings
  6. Click Restart
  7. Once it restarts, you will see a list of options. select 5 or F5 for Safe Mode with Networking
filename contains a virus and was deleted

Safe Mode with Networking starts Windows in safe mode, including the network drivers and services you need to access the internet or other computers on the same network.

Once you’re in safe mode, try to perform a clean boot.


3. Perform a Clean Boot and exit Safe Mode

3.1 Perform a clean boot

  1. Go to the search box, type msconfig, and select System Configuration
  2. Find Services tab
  3. Select Hide all Microsoft services box
  4. Click Disable all
  5. Go to the Startup tab
  6. Click Open Task Manager
  7. Close Task manager then click Ok
  8. Reboot your computer

You will have a clean boot environment after all these steps are carefully followed, after which you can try and check if the problem is gone.

3.2 Exit Safe Mode with Networking

  1. Right-click the Start button
  2. Select Run, type msconfig and press Enter
  3. Go to the Boot tab
  4. Deselect or uncheck the Safe Boot option box
  5. Restart your computer


4. Run the Microsoft Safety Scanner

Run a virus scan with Microsoft Safety Scanner
  1. Download the tool from the official Microsoft page
  2. Open it and select the type of scan you want to run
  3. Start the scan and review the scan results on the screen, which lists all malware identified on your computer

When a virus infects your computer, it makes the machine’s performance slows down greatly. Running a virus scan means any infected files may be cleaned by deleting the file completely, meaning you may experience data loss.

Microsoft Safety Scanner is a tool designed to locate and remove malware from Windows PCs. It only scans when manually triggered, then you get to use it 10 days after you download it.

This means you need to download the latest version of the tool before you perform each scan on your computer.

However, the Microsoft Safety Scanner tool doesn’t replace your antimalware program. It helps remove malicious software from your Windows 10 computer.

To remove the Microsoft Safety Scanner tool, delete the msert.exe file by default.


5. Check for the issue in a different user account or create a new account

  • Click Start
  • Select Settings
filename contains a virus and was deleted
  • Select Accounts then choose Family & Other Users
filename contains a virus and was deleted
  • Click Add someone else to this PC
filename contains a virus and was deleted
  • Fill in the form with the user name and password. Your new user account will be created.
  • Click on Change account type
  • Click the drop down arrow and choose Administrator to set the account to administrator level
  • Restart your computer
  • Login to the new account you just created

If the issue goes away, then it may mean your other user profile is corrupted.

You can try the following in case of a corrupted user profile:

  • On your new account, use it to downgrade your usual account
  • Click Apply or Ok
  • Raise back your old account to its default admin level
  • Rinse and repeat a few times as this will help to remove any corruption
  • Leave your account on as Administrator

Check whether you still get the filename contains a virus and was deleted error when using the newly created account. If it persists, then you can either Fix the old user account or migrate to the new account.

Note: If you have different user accounts, log in to each and check if the problem persists or goes away.

Did any of these solutions help you fix the problem? Let us know by leaving a comment in the section below.

Was this page helpful?
Thanks for letting us know! You can also help us by leaving a review on MyWOT or Trustpillot.
Get the most from your tech with our daily tips
Tell us why!