Chrome won’t let websites know you’re using incognito browsing

2 minute read
google chrome

Home » News » Chrome won’t let websites know you’re using incognito browsing

Google is reportedly planning to give a tough time to the sites so that they won’t be able to figure out that you are using Incognito mode. The feature is expected to arrive in as early as April 2019. 

Currently, the websites are able to block the visitors so that they are not able to access the content of the websites. If the users have to view the contents of the page they have to switch out of the Incognito mode. While the developers can use the “FileSystem” API to see that you are using that mode. 

How Is Chrome Planning To Close The Loophole?

Chrome follows a very simple step in this regard. When a user is using the Incognito mode, FileSystem API is disabled by Chrome. The FileSystem API basically stores the application files.  Basically, this API is being checked on page load by the websites that are interested in blocking private browsing.

Google has got a quick workaround as it creates a virtual file system in RAM. The missing API is not identified by the websites in that case.

The browser ensures the safety of the data in a way that whenever the user leaves the Incognito mode, the virtual system is automatically deleted. In fact, the company is working to completely remove the FileSystem API from the browser.

What Is The Incognito Mode?

When a user uses the incognito mode, he/she is able to browse the internet privately. One of the major benefits of this mode is that the browsing history and data is not being saved by the browser in any way. Moreover, the websites are not able to use cookies to track visitors in Incognito mode.

As the browser is not tracking the search history, the users can easily get rid of the advertisements. While if he is visiting the subscription-based websites, it’s a handy tool to get around article limits.

Google is all set to use an opt-in feature with Chrome 74 in order to close the loophole. The change is expected to be rolled out to all the users in April 2019.

It is worth mentioning that the search giant has taken a huge step in the right direction. It will not only ensure the privacy of the users but also help them to get rid of advertisements.

RELATED ARTICLES TO CHECK OUT NOW:

Discussions

Next up

Top 3 AMR to MP3 converters to change audio formats quickly

Alexandra Miu avatar. By: Alexandra Miu
Less than a 1 minute read

AMR (Adaptive Multi-Rate) audio format is the format majority of handheld devices (mainly smartphones) use for voice recordings. Now, a small problem might arise when […]

Continue Reading

FIX: The reminder will not appear, folder doesn’t support reminders

Tashreef Shareef avatar. By: Tashreef Shareef
2 minute read

The reminders feature in Outlook is a handy feature and allows the users to set appointments and plan meetings accordingly. However, at times the reminder […]

Continue Reading

Need to disable export data in Power BI? Check out this quick guide

Alexandru Voiculescu By: Alexandru Voiculescu
2 minute read

There are many cases in which it is necessary to hide sensitive data, such as personal information. For example, a company shouldn’t be able to […]

Continue Reading