This type of file can harm your computer Chrome alert [FIX]


Aleksandar Ognjanovic
by Aleksandar Ognjanovic
Editor
Loading Comments
Affiliate Disclosure

Chrome-hardware-access-error

Online security is an invaluable part of the everyday web-browsing experience. Chrome, for example, has a quite strict policy on downloads, especially the EXE files, that are mostly installation packages. It’ll make sure to inform you that, well, the program you’re trying to obtain is possibly a virus and can cause inexplicable damage to your system.

But, the ”This type of file can harm your computer” message can get on your nerves after some time, especially when you’re certain that the installation file comes from the trusted source.

If you’re downloading files frequently and the file’s extension triggers an annoying prompt message, this might help you. So make sure to check out the explanation below.

What to do when This type of file can harm your computer message appears on Chrome

Let’s start frankly: you can’t disable this feature. You can merely tweak the download settings in order to avoid it. But, then again, it might be easier to confirm that the suspected file is indeed non-harmful than to enable ”Ask where to save each file before downloading”. If you’re downloading multiple files in a succession, this isn’t the way out. It’ll only bombard you with multiple windows and that’s a hard bargain.

Nonetheless, if you’re still determined to see the back of this elusive prompt, make sure to follow the instructions below:

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. Click on the 3-dot menu in the top right corner and open Settings.chrome settings
  3. Scroll to the bottom and click on Advanced to expand settings.chrome advanced settings
  4. Scroll down until you reach Downloads.
  5. Toggle on ”Ask where to save each file before downloading” and close Settings.aks where to save each file before downloading chrome

That way, won’t get the ”This type of file can harm your computer” message with every new download. Sadly, this is more of a workaround (even that’s doubtful) than a solution. However, all other browsers are having the same procedure with downloads. Especially if you’re downloading EXE (executables, mostly installers for various applications) files. And adding a trusted website won’t help with it. So, it seems you can’t fully trade your security for leisure of not seeing the prompt every time.

With that, we can conclude this article. We hope that this was an informative read, so you’ll at least, know how to react accordingly once the pop-up informs you about the harmful software again. Don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments below.

Editor’s Note: This post was originally published in December 2017 and has been since completely revamped and updated for freshness, accuracy, and comprehensiveness.

RELATED STORIES YOU SHOULD CHECK OUT:

Was this page helpful?
Thanks for letting us know!
Get the most from your tech with our daily tips
Tell us why!