- Blocking somebody on Facebook and performing this action on Messenger is different.
- If someone blocks you on Messenger, you can't see when they are active or their last seen status.
- Facebook is the most popular network. To discover guides and tips on other Cloud apps, visit the Web & Cloud hub.
- Check out our How To section for more great and helpful guides.
For so many reasons, mostly good, you can decide to call it quits on your friendship with someone.
Every social network has its versions of the block feature, and Facebook Messenger isn’t an exception.
If you wish to block a user while on Messenger, the program asks if you want to do so on Messenger or on the larger Facebook as well.
After blocking a user whom you wish to cut off, a worry is that they may still be able to see when they are active.
There’s not much information on this topic, but it’s vital to know for the sake of your privacy and security. This post tells you precisely what happens when to expect when you block someone on Messenger.
Can I see when they are active if someone blocks me on Messenger?
Blocking a user on Facebook removes everything about the person from your interface.
This means that neither of you will see each other’s updates nor be able to chat with each other.
However, it gets tricky because Facebook allows you to block users in two different ways – blocking on Facebook or blocking on Messenger.
In this section, I’ll briefly explain what happens when someone blocks you Facebook as well as Messenger.
When you’re blocked on Facebook
As mentioned earlier, I pointed out that if someone blocks you on Facebook (not Messenger), your profile ceases to exist to the user.
They no longer find your profile even if they search. The Facebook block extends to Messenger.
The person who blocked you won’t see you on their contact list because you’re blocked on Facebook.
You won’t even see each other’s profile. Regarding seeing when you’re online, you won’t even find them on your contact list, talk more of seeing when they’re active.
When you’re blocked on Messenger
If the person only blocks you on Facebook Messenger, you can see when they’re online.
While you’re blocked on Messenger alone, you can still view the person’s Facebook profile and interact with their content.
However, you can’t send them messages or reach to old messages send before they blocked you.
In the area where you would normally type your message, you’ll see a notice saying you can’t reply to this conversation.
When someone blocks you on Messenger only, you will still see them on your list but can’t send them messages or view their last seen or online status.
However, you must note that this doesn’t only happen when a user blocks you. You will also not be able to interact with them if they deactivate their Facebook account.
Learn more about Facebook Messenger
- Why is my message sent but not delivered?
Find out the answer to this question by checking out our Facebook message is sent but not delivered guide.
- How do you know if someone blocked you on messenger without messaging them?
You will not be able to send messages to that person. For more details make sure to explore our guide on this topic.
- Can you still see someone on Facebook Messenger if they block you?
You will be able to see the person that blocked you on only in some situations. Check out this guide for more details.