How to disable the Delete File dialog box on Windows 10

Matthew Adams
by Matthew Adams
Windows & Software Expert
0 Comments
Download PDF
Affiliate Disclosure

The Recycle Bin stores files that users have selected to erase. Thus, those files aren’t really deleted until users empty the Recycle Bin. When users erase a file, a Delete File dialog box window might open that asks: Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin?

Users select Yes to confirm. However, users can disable the Delete File dialog box in Windows 10, and other platforms, as follows.

Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin?

1. Deselect the Display Delete Confirmation Dialog Option

The Recycle Bin Properties window includes a Display delete confirmation dialogue option. Users can uncheck that option by right-clicking the Recycle Bin icon and selecting Properties.

That will open the window shown directly below, which includes the Display delete confirmation dialogue setting. Deselect that option to turn off the Delete File dialog box. Then click Apply and OK.

2. Disable the Delete File Confirmation With Group Policy Editor

Alternatively, users can disable the Delete File dialog box with Group Policy Editor in Windows 10 Pro and Enterprise. That will turn off the Delete File dialog for all user accounts. This is how users can turn off Delete File confirmation dialogs with Group Policy Editor.

  1. Right-click the Start menu and select Run.
  2. Then enter ‘gpedit.msc’ in Run’s text box and click OK to open Group Policy.
  3. Click User Configuration > Administrative > Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer on the left of the Group Policy Editor window.
  4. Users can then double-click Display confirmation dialog when deleting files on the right of Group Policy Editor.
  5. Select the Disabled option on the Display confirmation dialog when deleting the files window.
  6. Click the Apply and OK buttons.

— RELATED: Can I undo restored files in Recycle Bin? Here’s the answer

3. Disable the Delete File Dialog Box by Editing the Registry

Some users have stated on forums that the Display delete confirmation option is grayed out on their Recycle Bin Properties windows. Consequently, they can’t disable the Delete File dialog box with that option.

However, users can still disable Delete File confirmations by editing the registry, which might come in handy if the Display delete confirmation setting is grayed out.

  1. Enter ‘regedit’ in Run and click OK.
  2. Navigate to this registry path: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer.
    are you sure you want to move this file to the recycle bin
  3. Select Explorer and then right-click an empty space on the right of Registry Editor’s window to select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
  4. Enter ‘ConfirmFileDelete’ as the DWORD title.
  5. Double-click ConfirmFileDelete to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value window.
    are you sure you want to move this file to the recycle bin
  6. Enter ‘0’ in the Value data text box, and click the OK button. To turn the delete confirmation dialog back on, enter ‘1’ in the Value data box.

 

are you sure you want to move this file to the recycle bin

4. Raise the Maximum File Size

A Delete File dialog box pops up when users try to delete a file that eclipses the maximum size value for the Recycle Bin. That dialog box asks, “Do you want to permanently delete it?” Thus, the file is too large for the Recycle Bin to include.

  1. However, users can ensure that the Delete File dialog box doesn’t open by raising the maximum file size for the Recycle Bin. To do so, open the Recycle Bin Properties window.
  2. Then select the Custom size radio button.
  3. Enter a higher maximum value in the text box.
  4. Click the Apply button.
  5. Then press the OK button to close the window.

So, there are a few ways that users can disable Recycle Bin’s Delete File dialog box. It’s not really worth having that dialog box enabled with the Recycle Bin configured to include deleted files. However, it might be worth keeping the Delete File dialog box when you’ve selected the Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin option. Then the confirmation window will ensure against accidental file erasure.

RELATED ARTICLES TO CHECK OUT: 

Was this page helpful?
Thanks for letting us know! You can also help us by leaving a review on MyWOT or Trustpillot.
Get the most from your tech with our daily tips
Tell us why!